Traditional PR and Advertising

I don’t watch much TV; therefore, I don’t see a lot of previews or advertisements for movies. I also don’t read newspapers really, and the only time I ever bought magazines on a regular basis was during my later years of high school. The main way I find out about movies and concerts is by word of mouth. If a friend of mine has similar interests as me and told me that they really liked a particular movie, then it is likely I will want to see it as well. Another popular way that I hear about movies and concerts is through Facebook. People always seem to be posting what they are doing or what they will be doing, and by reading their statuses I find out what events are coming up.

I don’t dismiss traditional PR and advertising, it’s just that my lifestyle does not involve a large variety of media on a regular basis. With the rise of technology, some, especially young people, turn mainly to electronic sources to get information. The most recent article I found about how long the average person spends on the Internet each week was from 2009, and the answer was 13 hours, which I’m sure has risen in the last two years. Considering how much time people spend on the Internet, it’s not hard to see that PR and advertisements are more accessible online and reach larger audiences than in traditional form.

Steve Simon from SSPR said that technology has impacted the way messages are disseminated, not the messages themselves. He also said that online media has allowed for PR to reach more audiences, and that traditional PR will not die out from new technology. I agree that the online media allows more audiences to be reached. The way we all get our news is based off our lifestyle, preference and age. Older people tend to stick to more traditional ways of getting information, and younger generations continue to dominate the electronic forms. I prefer not to watch a lot of TV, but I do spend a lot of time on the Internet and socializing, and because of that I get much of my news by word of mouth and sites like social networks. I think more people will be targeted and become aware of upcoming events, such as movies or concerts, with various technology-based mediums distributing advertisements than solely by traditional PR.

Sources:
http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1093/generations-online
http://aboutpublicrelations.net/ucsimon2.htm
http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-10421016-93.html

8 thoughts on “Traditional PR and Advertising

  1. Word of mouth is the greatest way to advertise because you trust your friends more than you do TV commercials and magazine ads. Companies are trying new and more innovative ways to advertise through word of mouth. Social media has allowed them to do this through tracking what your friends “like” and the sites they have visited. You are now able to go onto a company’s site and see who of your friends were also on that site. You can also visit a company’s page on Facebook and see which of your friends also “liked” that page. As advertising advances, so will sales. I would never see a movie unless I read the reviews! Now I can search the name of the movie on Twitter and read numerous reviews.

  2. My main source of entertainment is Netflix. There are no commercials on Netflix so I see your point. I was in the dressing room before a show the other day and one of the girls said she wanted to go see this movie (I forgot the name) that I had never heard of. I asked what else was out and she named off 6 or 7 different movies that I’ve never even heard of. I feel like maybe I’m out of the loop but it is getting harder and harder for advertisers to reach people. Especially with TiVo and Netflix and other similar services. Advertisers are really going to have to step it up a notch if they expect to keep up with the ever changing technology our society has.

  3. I completely agree that word of mouth is very effective. I’m more prone to actually research or even go to an event that someone tells me about directly. I wouldn’t dismiss traditional public relations and advertising but it is important to stay realistic and keep up with the new changes such as sites and technology. This now takes much more thought and creativity from those individuals.

  4. Pingback: Classmate blog comments « jharvard

  5. I was the same as you, not subscribing or reading magazines until about senior year in high school. Mostly because I was never much of a reader, but when I did I got Cosmo Girl and Seventeen, still not a lot of reading going on which is probably why I liked them. And to just touch on what you said about hearing about concerts through Facebook a lot of the time, that is something I am seeing more and more of lately. It’s just such a great way to advertise and get the word out there because SO many people have a Facebook account and use it as an outlet for news, media announcements, concerts, etc. Great blog!

  6. Pingback: Commentary on Blogs « kathleenpbrown

  7. It’s insane how quickly technology and social media is growing. Though with different tecnhology mediums people will always trust something that is by word of mouth. We all know that advertisements are made my the company to show the positive of their product or service, but when someone you trust like your grandmother who isn’t being paid by a company tells you about a restaurant you’re going to trust her.

  8. Pingback: MY COMMENTS… « sweetequation

Leave a Reply

